“I believe that the very purpose of our life is to seek happiness. That is clear. Whether one believes in religion or not, whether one believes in this religion or that religion, we all are seeking something better in life. So, I think, the very motion of our life is towards happiness” – Dalai Lama.

I don’t feel old. I don’t feel anything till noon. That’s when it’s time for my nap. – Bob Hope

Today marks the 86th Birthday of my beloved parent Elizabeth Cornelia Joubert Theron.  On the feastday of St Francis of   Assisi. She is in good company and I thank The Creator for this singularly great blessing in life.  She was and remains one of the most brilliant people I know.  She does not have a jealous spirit, is not small minded and has never limited me in what I needed(wrong or right) to do. She has supported me within the ongoing vortex of a soul destroying profession and like the good Samaritan of old she has stopped and digressed from her own journey to bind my wounds….over and over.
She desired peace and happiness all her life.  All she wanted was a home, security, a good marriage and children to fill the longings within her own spirit.  Part of a large family she still felt isolated within the family home and she truly mourned the loss of her beloved younger sister Rhona Muriel.  She got nothing of what she hoped for. Then at nineteen she bound herself to  a man who had the most enormous issues well concealed within a volatile personality.  It didn’t last and after five years she knew as only a broken hearted woman can know that it was over….really over. Catholiscm binds one and she was truly bound. It would take 65years before release came….65 years of enduring a myriad of painful and well hidden hurts, humiliations and infidelities.

She taught me everything I know. She gave to me a spirit that never stopped living intensely. She gave to me the soapbox I so often stand upon. She gave to me endurance, for having come from a poor background (growing up in the Depression) she knew what it was to endure…to want and not get..to need and not receive.  I learnt from her how to be stalwart and enduring
She gave to me a love for words…books and she encouraged all I ever wrote.
She gave to me many things and she was my greatest teacher.  She allowed me to challenge her and to argue.  She allowed me to go off at many tangents and she always listened to my tirades of whatever was of utmost importance at any point in life.

Happy birthday my teacher, my friend, my parent.  May you be granted more years. Thankyou for what you have been to me…like I said many things given and taught….but one thing you could not instill in this passionate and often misguided daughter…wisdom….like Barabas of old I was many things but I was never wise.
image

