“Those who find ugly meanings in beautiful things are corrupt without being charming. This is a fault. Those who find beautiful meanings in beautiful things are the cultivated. For these there is hope. They are the elect to whom beautiful things mean only Beauty. There is no such thing as a moral or an immoral book. Books are well written, or badly written. That is all.”
― Oscar Wilde

Thursdays like Mondays must come around…..each and every week in the cycle of time. Mondays are never easy for most people and who of us do not experience the inevitable late Sunday afternoon blues.  That ghastly feeling of ending and futility that is not stilled by even the best of chocolate and coffee. It requires courage to remain calm and accepting of Mondays. On Mondays I receive most of the communication via SMS from parents who inform me students will not attend class…..they are all ill. Never before in my teaching career have so many been so ‘indisposed’ as on Mondays. Mondays are days in which new directions are focused upon….by Friday there are no directions at all ….the week and its happenings too challenging to cope with. But then there are Thursdays. Thursdays takes me to a school where I ‘try’ to teach six girls ‘drama’. My first goal in trying to help them speak and read properly has been to get them to read with understanding and fluency. I thought when I started they would be able to do this quite well…but….oh! there is always a but…they cannot read fluently at all. I realised that they don’t read books and know nothing of the notable writers we are all subject to in the growing process of Life. As I got to know them I also realised that each one has ‘issues’ they are dealing with which doesn’t help the teacher/student interactionary process.
I was filled with great enthusiasm in approaching this service which is not tarnished with the ‘reimbursement’ for classes issue….for me this meant a pure and unbiased effort at bringing the ‘light’ and ‘beauty’ of words to their everyday lives. I was so wrong once again… these young people don’t want to be empowered by words….they don’t want to learn of writers with messages or even poetry with meaning.

I realise now I have outlived my time in the teaching profession as well as in the community I have served for so long. I can’t reach out to the youth of today and teaching as I do a diverse group based on race and culture I have to face the door of Reality and know that what worked in the past may very well never work for the future.

“Sometimes I lie awake at night and I ask, “Is life a multiple choice test or is it a true or false test?” …Then a voice comes to me out of the dark and says, “We hate to tell you this but life is a thousand word essay.”
― Charles M. Schulz

These young people cannot write more than five lines of good content and they will not try to find it in themselves to express from the literary platform their experiences and concerns with regard to life. Its the saddest thing.
Today is Thursday and I found beautiful words to share with them. On reflection….there is no point.

“The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing.”
― Albert Einstein
I ask these six girls ….are you not curious of the greater things outside of the peripheral of your lives?

