Friday night of the 21st November saw the completion of many months work and preparation. I reflect and am grateful that I managed to bring the project to fruition. The students looked and behaved beautifully.  On occasions such as these there is always the crisis moments such as students arriving with the wrong leotard and another forgetting her shoes and another making an entrance a tad too soon. Although i have been in the profession for 45years every Dance Recital is like the first. Prior to the starting time of 6pm there was rain and wind (how was I going to get the costumes in the car) load shedding of electricity – South Africas solution to the electricity crisis and  I had visions of the delay all of this would cause and a terrible anxiety gripped my being. But by 4.00pm everything was clear and I knew it would be allright.
One can never look into the future and my mother and I had discussed so any times, especially when classes were so challenging with the absenteeism of the
girls and the illnesses of the younger ones, if I should finally call it quits as far as my teaching is concerned. I had accepted this year, pupils from another school who had left for whatever reason they felt was justified to leave.  It was extremely difficult to get these young people to work alongside my students and to accept how I work on a weekly basis.  I know that they ‘stuck’ it out until the Parents evening Recital in order to compare the School of Dance with the other local school. One parent was honest enough to tell me they were doing this. Not one of them spoke to me after the performance.  This is how it is done in my part of the world.
In the final week prior to the 21st November I made changes to costumes that were already made and music that was already set and recorded.  The sound system of the premises I hired gave tremendous stress since the CD player bounced every CD inserted.  I had to use my own equipment and with the assistance of two fine people and a brilliant administrator of the premises it was allright.  I realise now that my Creator was with me every step of the way…even with the changes I made…I resented many things at the time but it was so right to do it.  What I did was inspired by the Spirit and now I know a certain truth.
Sleep still does not come easy even if I read before trying to rest….somehow I am back on the stage with the little ones and the tight moments we had.
On Saturday the 22nd November was QM’s birthday and as I packed everything away for another times NooNoo was always there to keep me company.

image

so will this take long

image

image

lets go now

