I thought it would happen later than sooner…but yes the first transgression on my part has been ‘committed’ without premeditation and I now have another blown weekend.
There can be no doubt that everyone without exception who walks through the doors of my studio to practise and express through movement needs to ‘feed’ off the Artistic Muse for awhile. They come for the purpose of replenishing their spirits and improving their physique. Achieving this becomes individualised…each one does it differently. There is no excuse for a teacher to be less than her artistic best. Pain doesn’t count, exhaustion doesn’t count, emotional stress doesn’t even enter the equation and much less personal upheaval. I was not brilliant yesterday and struggled to finish the afternoon with as much decorum as I could but I know that somewhere I transgressed and was left communicatively stranded. Another lesson for me to learn from students who mean so incredibly much.

“When I say it’s you I like, I’m talking about that part of you that knows that life is far more than anything you can ever see or hear or touch. That deep part of you that allows you to stand for those things without which humankind cannot survive. Love that conquers hate, peace that rises triumphant over war, and justice that proves more powerful than greed.”
― Fred Roger

“Growing apart doesn’t change the fact that for a long time we grew side by side; our roots will always be tangled. I’m glad for that.”
― Ally Condie

“Silence make the real conversations between friends. Not the saying, but the never needing to say that counts.”
― Margaret Lee Runbeck

I made the mistake in thinking explanations were not relevant in my daily communication with students…especially the senior ones but I see now and understand with a measure of regret that I placed too much virtuous understanding in them all. Nothing excuses physical pain and mental anguish in this profession. One must always….and I mean always, be the person the students expect to find on any given day.

The killing fields of human conflict!

