I have a new appreciation for people of the world who live in countries with monsoon type rains, excessive wind and heat.  I used to watch news reports of these weather extremes and briefly wondered how people coped with downpours, flooding, hail and rain. I watched the TV screen only half concentrating on the reality of the situation and then I moved on to my own routine.
These past few weeks in Ra********* where I live has brought me to a place in life I never thought was possible to reach and all because of weather and sport!  There is something so crazy about this situation and something so utterly real that it feels as though my life is a dimension of the film ‘Matrix’.  Unfortunately there is no Keanu Reeves in the panoramic view.
The summer of 2015/2016 in SA will be known for the year of the drought.  Loss of everything is in the forefront of daily news and everything is inadequate, expensive and lacking….from vegetables to clothes to manufactured foods to people. Livestock died by the thousands and everyone is plunged into a kind of depression that demands that we as a people must straighten our backs and face it like the pioneers we are supposed to be. After all did our forebears not come from the survivor ‘hugenots’, the European diaspora and then later the practical English? 
I never thought it would be possible to be so adversely affected from a psychological point of view by weather.  The breaking down of a spirit is seldom as a result of a single factor….breakdown or spiritual meltdown is as a result of many things over a period of time and it takes a single factor to engineer the ultimate ‘break’.  For me it was the rain…the endless rain that never stopped over days in a wet week. The thunder and lightning in the middle of the day brought my troubled psyche to a meltdown point…and I found myself in the garden screaming and beating my fists …..no more!..no more!  Nothing prepares a person for Gauteng storms and rain and living in a flat roofed house causes untold tension.  I completely lost it…I was in a vacuum of extreme anger and intolerance and total and utter despair. I knew in my deepest soul I can’t/couldnt take anymore.  How I survived outside with lightning all over the place only my Creator will know.  It was my mother, incapacitated as she is who pulled me back from total mental breakdown.   No one can understand what it is to fear the elements. I have two students who share the same angst….I knew of their fears but now I understand the level of trauma they reach when their mothers are called to fetch them from school each time there is a violent downpour of rain. Fear of the elements is not just a silly thing people must get out of…..its real and its destructive.

I was always passionate about Cricket. Because I have ‘poor peoples TV’ I watch with dedication. I Will not watch or support cricket again.  That the Proteas loose a game is absolutely acceptable …but that they constantly loose against the Australians is more than I can bear.  This is another reason why my sense of well being has been affected…….the weather and cricket.  I have to walk away….I have to

image

It is  my NooNoo who constantly reminds me…that I have to hold on and try to go with the flow.

image

