image

April is upon us once again. There are two months in the year we have always found it hard to get through.  April and August. All through our lives as a troubled family April heralded conflict, upheaval,discontent and more often than not, life changing events.
My mother had all her heart attacks during the first two weeks of April.  Different years but always in April…also the great Bypass. April always brought with it untold and unprepared for expense (financial) and emotional. Breakups always happened in April. The car battery would die in April…regularly! The toilets would start leaking in April and everyone would be totally depressed at the first sign of leaves falling off trees. In April one has skeleton classes because there are the Easter holidays, camps of all kind from Christian to Girl Guide camps. In April we experience balmy weather which should enhance a hopeful spirit. Not so….more people than usual are depressed in April. Finally the hysterical summer months end and it is as though there is some kind of universal mourning. QM died in April and I had all my professional conflicts in April…..just after the 1st Term when demonstrations are done and decisions about ones expertise in the profession is made.  April is the deadline for the submission of annual subscription fees to various Dance associations who really don’t care for you as a person or professional. Yes….April is pretty challenging and each year we tell ourselves this year we are not thinking of April but rather calling the four weeks Moiya month. We pray more than usual in April as well!!! We need Divine intervention to overcome this reality.

Still….I, we, remain grateful for the changing of the season. I am not partial to summer…it is excessive and extreme. Extreme heat, excessive rain, extremely long days, excessive culinary indulgences…and too many drinks with Japanese umbrellas hanging on the rim.  Where I live ‘cocktails’ are the newest trend! 

We felt, since the middle of March, that this  April would not be easy. On reflection 2016 is proving to be not too easy and smooth going. But…we continue to try and cope with each day and crisis at a time.  I know and understand the value of my books and the years of research in all those neat little files. I fill up this unknown space within myself with the perusal of all the collected information. Did I collect all of  ‘this’ ? I ask myself. I seem to have been searching my entire life.

image

